View From an Irish Back Yard


30 Days Remain
August 10, 2013, 5:22 pm
Filed under: America, Ireland in General, Irish Outdoors | Tags: , , ,

I’m a bit in denial, even as I sit here surrounded by half-packed boxes.  After 5 1/2 years of Irish adventures, my family and I are moving back to the USA on the 10th of September, just 30 days away.

It has been a bit crazy, trying to plan out the whens and hows, and I am desperate to cross things off a list of endless details that must be organised.  But, deep down, I know this is going to be a lot harder than merely getting to the airport on time or finding the right car when we get there.  It’s going to be really, really difficult to leave.

Image

Magdalene’s Tower, part of a 14th century friary, just a block or two away from our house.

People keep asking me if I’m excited, and yes, of course I am!  In my stacks of lists, there is one near the top for the first precious groceries I will buy when I’m settled back in Indiana – it includes things like cornmeal, applesauce, spicy salsa, Italian sausage and coffee-flavored ice cream.  I can’t wait to see my friends and family again, and introduce them to my kids.  And I’m really looking forward to making a fresh start and building a new life with (hopefully) more promise.

But Ireland has been a very special place for us, for me, as well.  I don’t think I can actually put into words all the moments and places and people who have forever stamped this country on my heart.  And really, I’ll forever be a transplant here – Ireland was never really “mine.”  But there are bits and pieces of her I will carry with me from now until we return, which will hopefully be soon and often.

Image

The Holy Mother watches over this little corner of houses between Hardman’s Gardens and Church Street.

Image

Charlie Chaplin’s head randomly sticks out of a wall.

Image

Overgrown field next to our house.

Image

The chipped statue of a saint still sits in the window of this abandoned shop.

McCloskey's "Tipsy Cake," one of our favourite treats here.

McCloskey’s “Tipsy Cake,” one of our favourite treats here.

Ornate old letter slot.

Ornate old letter slot.

St. Laurence's Gate, a one-time portal to the city, just down the hill from our house.

St. Laurence’s Gate, a 13th century fortification and one-time portal to the city, just down the hill from our house.

Friends and neighbours have been commenting on how “ah, so now you’re going home again,” but I don’t exactly feel that is true.  If I’m completely honest, Drogheda never did feel absolutely like home to these restless bones, but I don’t feel like, in going back to the States, we will automatically slide into a comfortable sense of “home” there, either.  But what I do hope for is that we can create our own home, a Kelly home, whatever that means and wherever that ends up being.

Whatever happens, and in spite of any inconveniences, dramas or hilarity that has gone on here, I am so glad I’ve lived in Ireland.  I know, looking back, that it has changed me a great deal, and perhaps more importantly, it’s changed how I view the world around me.

Still – I have 30 more days to enjoy it.  I’ll try to just savor that and not worry about what’s next too much.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So excited for you – :) I know you will miss life here to but it’s a new adventure – I owe you an email – will get that out soon!! Keep posting on your new life back in the states – we are heading back there at the end of the year :)

Comment by Elizabeth holder

ah i can only wish you the best what else can i say just hope the work is better if you get that sorted all will be well.
love ya loads.

Comment by anthony kelly

Just a note to say, welcome back to the US. :-)

Comment by Birke




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

