6/120


I’m really trying to be good. I’ve realized that I’ve finally come to that age where I can’t eat what I want all the time, even if I do maintain a relativley active lifestyle. Like everything else, it seems, I must now be consciously responsible about keeping fit and healthy. So, when everyone else ordered burgers and seafood melts and fries at yesterday’s lunch, I dutifully got a cup of soup and salad (which was also cheaper). However, I don’t plan on denying myself out of an enjoyable life, either… so yesterday, I tried to devise a way I could “cheat” a little and still allow myself some of my favorite things, in moderation.


Oh, the pain of it! I unwittingly opened a Pandora’s Box of hard, honest, true calorie counts… how I wish I’d never known! Since misery loves company, I thought I’d share some of my findings (don’t kill me, especially since it looks like I’ll die soon anyway):




  • 1 Cinnabon – 730 Calories, 24 grams of fat


  • (12 oz.) Small Wendy’s Frosty – 330 Calories, 8 grams of fat


  • Small bag (1 oz.) Cheetos – 160 Calories, 10 grams of fat


  • (4 oz.) Medium McDonald’s Fries – 350 Calories, 16 grams of fat


  • McDonald’s Sausage Burrito – 300 Calories, 16 grams of fat


  • (12 oz.) Small McDonald’s Oreo McFlurry – 560 Calories, 16 grams of fat


  • 1 McDonald’s Cheeseburger – 310 Calories, 12 grams of fat


  • Regular size Rally’s Fries – 210 Calories, 11 grams of fat


  • Rallyburger W/ Cheese – 490 Calories, 27 grams of fat


  •  Regular size Caramel Mocha Macchiato Steak ‘N’ Shake Sippable Sundae – 799 Calories, 23 grams of fat


  • Sheetz Schmiscuit (meat, egg, American cheese) – 365 Calories, 17 grams of fat, 1110 mg. sodium!


  • Qdoba Chicken Burrito w/ rice, pintos and cheese – 1245 Calories, 58 grams of fat


  • Single serving of Papa Murphy’s Hawaiin Pizza – 290 Calories, 11 grams of fat


  • Single serving of Papa Murphy’s Gourmet Chicken Garlic Pizza – 320 Calories, 15 grams of fat


  • 1 Bottle Sam Adam’s Octoberfest Beer – 165 Calories


  • 1 (2.5 oz.) Cosmopolitan – 132 Calories


  • Einstein’s Challah Cobbie Sandwich – 630 Calories, 33 grams of fat


  • 1 Einstein’s Chocolate Chunk Cookie – 640 Calories, 31 grams of fat

Looks like I’ll be eating celery for a while, especially considering it takes me at least 30 minutes to burn 300 calories running on the treadmill. Ugh! But don’t worry too much – I still love life and hold food in too high a regard to be the Calorie Nazi at the ripe old age of 23.


…………………………


Caroline’s friends post their “grocery stories”… here is mine from last night. A very largely pregnant lady was pushing her two small children around Meijer in one of those awkward shopping carts that looks like a fire engine. They were being noisy and hyper and the little boy shouted, “Why are you having a baby, Mommy?” She looked at me, gave a rueful grin, and replied, “I don’t know, honey. I don’t know why anyone would ever want to have kids. But, somehow, Mommy just keeps having babies.” The little boy responded with, “Well, how do you make a baby?” At that point I just had to laugh and leave the family to their own private discussion.


…………………………..


My whole outfit matches today, right down to my purple panties. Things like that make my little OCD heart skip a beat.


…………………………..


Last night as I was falling asleep in my supersoft t-shirt nightgown and supersoft t-shirt sheets, I thought to myself, “I wonder if this is what it feels like to get a hug from God.” It’s nice to have thoughts like that sometimes.

12 thoughts on “

  1. It’s not calories! It’s metabolic interactive content. Cut out processed sugar, fast food, and preservatives. Get balanced exercise (cardio + muscle + flexibility). Drink lots of water. You will stay thin and healthy. Well, I’m overweight, but I feel good and am probably healthy.Smoking cigarettes also helps keep you thin. Good luck.

  2. yeah, the chicken burrito surprised me. oh well, cosmos and hawaiin pizza are still okay. I don’t have the weight thing figured out either, but there’s more to it than just calories in vs. calories out. Stress, metabolism, exercise, and how processed/sugary your food is, even if it’s low calorie all seem to play a part. E.at healthy, exercise, and have the occasional treat, whatever it is. That’s my motto. I think people who drink Slim Fast are troubled. 

  3. Yikes…well, I like how the Cosmo has the least amount of calories.
    I’m so excited because I feel I was slightly mentioned in this blog because I had a grocery store story too!  Oh, and Tall Guy is this guy at my work that I have been obsessed with for…4 years probably.  I still don’t know his actual name or anything.  I, or someone I know, has spotted him working at a golf course, buying cable at Best Buy, and shopping at Stop and Shop.  You’d think I’d work up the nerve to say something during one of these encounters…I should try needing help with something on a high shelf…good one!!
    Stress = losing weight.  Not that I would advise anyone to use this as a weight loss method.

  4. I can’t tell you HOW DEVASTATED I am about the Schmiscuit.  I just had one yesterday.  Along with a hot dog.  That was my dinner.  Which is now resting happily on my ever-growing hips.  Swimsuit season is coming.  Crap.

  5. I am most sad about Qdoba.  I eat there eat least once a week when I’m not on a rabbit diet.  Sad. Sad.  I might have to change something about my Qdoba habits, I guess.  And I’ve always wondered about the t-shirt sheets.  Are they really as amazing as they’re made out to be?

Leave a Reply

