Sorry I’ve been lax in writing this week. After the last big story, nothing else quite compares.


I’m trying to create a CD that I can listen to when I’m working out… however, most of my melancholy Brit-pop stuff doesn’t cut it, so I’ve decided it needs up-tempo girly mad music to get me going, but suddenly I can’t think of anything. I don’t want to just make a mediocre copy of “Wow 6!” but I’m drawing a blank and I know as soon as I’m done, I’ll hear something on the radio and get mad that I didn’t think of adding it to the mix. So far, I’ve got “Miss Independent” by Kelly Clarkson, “Don’t Go Knocking” by Britney Spears, “Dumb Blonde” by Hoku, “Bachelorette” by Bjork,  “Mr. Brightside” by the Killers, and “I Miss You” by Blink 182. (It just goes to show, there IS a purpose for bubblegum music) Anyway, I’d welcome your additional suggestions, since I can fit about 18 tracks on a disc.


…………………………………….


We had a staff retreat earlier this week and I used the opportunity to get to know our new C.O.O., David Slaughter, who is in the process of moving here from Nashville. I found it particularly cool that he was the tour manager for Amy Grant and Michael W. Smith during the height of their respective pop careers in the mid-90’s (remember? back when we girls were all teasing our hair and slipping into our neon colored stirrup pants). He’s also a darn good guy.


……………………………………


Yay for Kari and the safe arrival of baby #6!!! Do we have a name for the Little Mister yet?


……………………………………


True confession: I’m doing everything I can to not be “that girl,” you know, the jerk who blasts Valentine’s Day and all the couples who relish in the sea of pink and red hearts…I AM and will continue to be HAPPY for my friends and relatives. But, I gotta say, I’m really dreading it this year. It hurts to even watch, and all the more so since I’m eating healthy and that definitely excludes heart-shaped boxes of chocolates. ~sigh~  But still, I maintain I wont’ be “that girl!” Don’t let me be.


12/120  

12 thoughts on “

  1. try “Unwritten” by Natasha Beddingfield, (I know it sounds cheesy but…) Josie and the pussycats soundtrack, “Let’s Go” by Trick Daddy, “Run It” by Chris Brown…these are just a few that are in my workout collection.  🙂

  2. “Get Outta my dreams… Get into my car *beep beep*, Yeah.” haha… Billy Ocean.
    I Wanna Dance With Somebody- Whitney Houstan, FOR SURE!
    Like a prayer- Madonna
    Hung Up-Madonna… my favorite to run to right now.

  3. Perhaps you could throw some Gwen Stefani in there. Because as far as I am concerned, I do not think you are a holler back girl….and perhaps you too wish you were a rich girl..nanananananana

  4. Girly mad music?…. I think of Ani Difranco, Alanis Morissette, Fiona Apple, The Cranberries, or Hole but none of those would be good for a workout album. Along the Britpop line have you thought of maybe Radiohead… perhaps the song idioteque from Kid A.

Leave a Reply

