I am so totally ready to get out of this town for a few days and enjoy the sun with my sister and nephew! Ah, it’s been so long since I’ve had a vacation… Really, the last time I had a truly relaxing and fun vacation was Hillbilly Holiday last year in Tennessee. But anyhoo, I am leaving at an ungodly hour Wednesday morning, but at least I have a limo to take me to the airport. I think I might put on big sunglasses and a headscarf before I leave, just to be sure people don’t know I’m famous.


* * * * * * *


By the time I got off work on Friday night, the pub across the street was out of Guinness. Who runs out of Guinness at 10 p.m.on St. Patrick’s Day??!!?? Oh well, I had a Smithwick’s instead and enjoyed the company of a wide range of Irish (and wannabe Irish, including a very annoying drunk girl from Michigan who, among other things, loved using the “F” word and, while drinking a Bud Light, insisted that her favorite beer ever is Bell’s Oberon. Ha. And again I say Ha.). Then I got 3 hours of sleep and went to work at 6 a.m. When I went back to bed at 3 p.m., I found a shamrock sticker under my pillow. Where did that come from??


* * * * * * *


My biggest pet peeve of late is people who won’t give you their full attention. Maybe it’s a little selfish and anal of me, but when I’m having a conversation, I try to give that person my full focus and I like to expect the same. Nothing irks me more than having someone’s eyes glaze over as they think about something else, or answer their cell phone, or type an email, or yell out to someone in the other room. I curse Blackberries. I despise call waiting.  


It’s one thing to excuse yourself or give some forewarning – “My mom is in the hospital, so I may be getting a call” – but to flat out turn your back on someone in the middle of a discussion (serious or otherwise) is just plain bad manners. Another thing that goes along with this is not calling someone back when you say you will. Failing to follow through or maintain at least a facade of concern for someone else makes people like me feel really worthless because, when you choose to answer that second or third or fourth call, it’s like you’re telling the first person, “you’re not that important to me.” Come on people, we all deserve to be important.


* * * * * * *


Otherwise, not much funny going on… except for this movie.


TV Thompson: Tuggle, are you a good girl?
Tuggle Carpenter: Please, I don’t want to disillusion you or disappoint you.
TV Thompson: No, no, no, no. I won’t be disillusioned or disappointed. Are you a good girl, Tuggle?
Tuggle Carpenter: [reluctantly] Ummhmm.
TV Thompson: [disillusioned and disappointed] Oh…
Tuggle Carpenter: [leaving] I knew it.


23/120

7 thoughts on “

  1. How’d you score a limo? Wow.
    I am SO with you about the full attention thing. Whenever I have to divert my attention from one patient to another I apologize profusely. We absolutely deserve better treatment. At least you treat others better, eh?

  2. I love that movie…
    Umm…I have a confession.  Sometimes I’m not so good at giving people my full attention.  Just yesterday I was typing on my computer while somebody was talking to me in my office.  Ouch.  I shouldn’t do that anymore.  You’re right.

  3. I always type when people talk to me too…it’s almost something you don’t notice you’re doing…bad BAD.  OR sometimes it’s me trying to subconsiously tell the person something…

  4. I actually feel the complete opposite when someone answers a call waiting. Unless the person answering the second call takes forever, I don’t have a problem waiting a few seconds for the person to come back to me as long as it is only a few seconds, and they tell me beforehand that they have a call coming in. Maybe I just have a plethora of self-esteem. I dunno..

Leave a Reply

