My birthday is one month from today. These are the things I’d like, the things I’d probably never get for myself:


– Mixed Media Art workshop at the Indianapolis Art Center


– an easel and good painting supplies


– a beach/ocean vacation where I could just alternate between writing, painting, reading, eating and doing nothing but enjoy the sun.


– Cooking classes at William Sonoma


– A “real” haircut, and maybe highlights


– Anthropologie shopping spree


– Dinner at the Melting Pot


……………………………….


“Foot-in-Mouth Malady” strikes again. I got nervous during a meeting last night and spewed forth all manner of ridiculous verbiage from my mouth. It was a meeting for our new film screeners and I was trying to communicate the standards my boss holds about films with gratuitous sex scenes. Somehow, I just heard myself saying, “it’s OK if it’s a tasteful sex scene in a marital relationship, but if it’s just teenagers doing it like dogs on the lawn, we don’t want that.” Luckily, I don’t thing the old fogies had any idea what I was saying, or if they did, I didn’t even get a sympathy giggle. ~sigh~ I should have been Vanna White… just walk, smile, turn the letters.


………………………………….


It isn’t very difficult to see why
You are the way you are
Doesn’t take a genius to realise
That sometimes life is hard
It’s gonna take time
But you’ll just have to wait
You’re gonna be fine
But in the meantime

Come over here lady
Let me wipe your tears away
Come a little nearer baby
Coz you’ll heal over
Heal over
Heal over someday

And I don’t wanna hear you tell yourself
That these feelings are in the past
You know it doesn’t mean they’re off the shelf
Because pain’s built to last
Everybody sails alone
But we can travel side by side
Even if you fail
You know that no one really minds
Come over here lady

Don’t hold on but don’t let go
I know it’s so hard
You’ve got to try to trust yourself
I know it’s so hard, so hard

Come over here lady
Let me wipe your tears away
Come a little nearer baby
Coz you’ll heal over, heal over, heal over someday


…………………………………


It’s been a weird week. Unfortunately for you, it’s not been funny weird, just weird.   I finished painting the rest of my bathroom with a new can of paint, only to find that Lowe’s mismatched the colors. Not sure what to do about that, but it’s really annoying. And I think I lost my diary in Nashville. The Patel family (Days Inn Owners) will have fun reading about my exploits, I’m sure.


31/120

2 thoughts on “

  1. Good, I was going to ask you for birthday ideas. Saves me the trouble.
    Someday we’ll be so old we won’t care if we put our feet in our mouths! It’s in the genes…accept it and enjoy the horrified looks.

  2. Awww, I love your birthday wish list! I think you should do at least one of those things for yourself…I concur, because I myself will probably Never get around to getting a “real” haircut with highlights and the works; just do it. 🙂 Have a great weekend, and I’ll see you at Pittman’s par-tay…

Leave a Reply

