Crackers and 7-Up

I must have jinxed my weeked by saying it would be great on xanga. Because it wasn’t great, it was poopy! Not all of it, mind you… just the majority, once I got violently ill on Friday night/Saturday morning. Fortunately, Kevin lent me his Seasons 1 & 2 of “Arrested Development,” just in time.


We had a great time on Friday (before I got sick, which didn’t happen until about 2 a.m.). It began outside my apartment building when Kevin made “friends” with a homeless man who prefaced his request for money with an assurance that he wouldn’t beat K. up if he complied – the same guy, ironically, who I saw handcuffed later in the weekend. Then on to the cookout, where we were the first non-family members to show up and didn’t quite know what to do with the beer we were hiding in our arms. But anyway, it was loads of fun, even though we didn’t win at poker (I didn’t even play) and we met many new and interesting people in addition to the ones I already knew.  The food was great (until it was revisited) and the laughs were great, too. I got to tell at least two people that Kevin was not my boyfriend, but that I keep him around for protection. Ha ha. They should let me out more often – I was on a role.


I ended up going to Ashley’s wedding Saturday night, and I’m glad I didn’t miss it because of an upset stomach. She was the most beautiful bride I’ve ever seen… all I had to do was turn around and see her in the processional, then turn and look at the goofy, awestruck grin on Scott’s face, and I started to cry. I never would have guessed what a year would bring – it was exactly 12 months ago when we made our roadtrip out to Montana and love was on neither one of our brains. Well, at least not on hers.



The other cool part of the wedding was that I unexpectedly had an old college crush sit down next to me at the reception. Score.


So here I am, back at work. I even took the morning off because my insides are still out of sorts. Thus, the aforementioned food and drink staples. But I’ve got a lot to do, so I’d better stop whining about it. I just hate looking back at a wasted weekend – no working out, little hanging out, no random shopping, no walking outside, no indulging in great food (and then working out again), just yuck. I swear I finally just wanted to die yesterday. But I’m getting over it.


A little Van Morrison helps, too.

5 thoughts on “Crackers and 7-Up

  1. I’ve heard “Arrested Development” is so good!  Sorry to hear about your weekend being not-so-great.  Ashley is so cute – I can imagine she was a gorgeous bride.

  2. No, Leah moved out and she’s living in Castleton-Keystone area with Marcie Wagnon (Vocal Performance ’02).  Doug’s still in the same place, though.  He’s a real adult and owns his condo.  Weird.

Leave a Reply

