You’re Invited: Birthday Party at MacNiven’s Scottish Pub & Restaurant on Mass. Avenue, this Saturday night from 8 PM until whenever. I think Jamie Cullum is going to be there to help me turn 24.  But don’t worry! My “wild days” are over.


* * * * * * * * * * * * *


I’m not sure how much free time I’m going to have to write on here in the next couple weeks… I’ll be putting more time into a different kind of writing. Be on the lookout in the next few months. This could be big.


* * * * * * * * * * * * *


Second-time read for this book – it is so good. And so good for me – I’m finding more things to underline (in a different color pen, of course), and I love re-reading the wisdom I ate up the first time around.


“Ladies, strictly platonic relationships can be real blessings, so listen up: Don’t try to make every good man your husband. You may miss out on their real purpose in your life… and really end up missing out.” – Shellie Warren, “Inside of Me,” p. 129


“Like me, you may have moments when you look in the mirror and you don’t like what you see, and worse yet, you wonder how anyone else – including God – could either. Like me, you may have repeated some of the same mistakes because you thought bad love was better than no love, and being with anyone was better than being alone. Like me, you may have been so consumed with what was going on in the outside world that you missed out on what was going on inside of you.”  p.155


Her poetry is pretty great, too, but that’s too long to copy… I suggest you read it yourself.


* * * * * * * * * * * * *


Finally downloaded the software to watch The Elms’ “Nothing to Do With Love” video. I can see where the “controversy” comes in (and can also see why it’s really not an issue)… but I was more surprised to see the ever-talented Miss Callie B playing the part of the girlfriend!!! So cool. She looks great, too.


* * * * * * * * * * * * *


I succeeded in picking a great restaurant for my office birthday lunch today… two coworkers have gone home sick so far. Me? I feel just fine.


* * * * * * * * * * * * *


Off to the gym – I had a little lapse when I was under the weather last week. Gotta say, though, I really strongly dislike those guys who YELL when they’re lifting weights to let everyone in the room know that they’re working hard. I don’t think they realize it doesn’t have the desired effect (awe? turn on? jealousy?). No – it only makes us all pull a collective muscle when we jump in terror, thinking a wild boar must have just been let loose on some unfortunate gentleman’s nuts.


37/120

3 thoughts on “

  1. Laughing out loud at that last bit! Sammy imitates those guys at the gym, which is particularly humiliating for them. And the other day some guy lifting weights that were too big for him dropped them while staring at my…..humps.

  2. Guys that pump iron and make loud noises when they do ARE wild boars and bores!  Me, I’m very quiet when I work out lifting those 12 oz glasses of frozen delights from the table to my mouth.  the only noise you’ll hear me say is Mmmm.

Leave a Reply

