Sometimes pictures are better than words…

After four days of watching movies about everything from Meth addiction to the war in Iraq, I had to go fishing.

catfish1    catch#2

Catch #1, a nasty catfish that speared me with its fin.                                     Catch #2 – don’t be fooled by the optical illusion, it’s a lot smaller than it looks!

 swamp   lillylake

A swamp/wetland where the grass cut into my legs and I picked three perfect cattails in remembrance of three little girls who took a similar excursion, years ago… and then Lilly Lake, which is more of a pond and warmer than a bathtub.

Sometimes I miss Montana in summer, where you can fish in cold, sparkling trout streams for free, rather than drive half an hour to pay $4 to get into Eagle Creek… but I’m trying to get out of the habit of recreating memories that were never meant to be repeated as medicore copies. Instead, I let the evening be what it was, and it was great, a lovely time spent alone, outside in the peace of nature, with fresh air abounding and my mind able to explore something wider and more alive than any TV screen.

This morning I woke up to rain, oh glorious rain! I know that sounds crazy, but it’s been so hot and sunny for so long, I’ve missed having cooler, calmer days with the sounds of raindrops plunking onto the tree leaves outside my window at home. I rolled out of bed into a much cooler, quieter apartment and went to my dark kitchen where I made tea and oatmeal as the thunder crashed outside. It was a great way to start the day.

Anyway, while I’m posting pictures, here are a few from the splash park with Sammy during my trip to Arizona. Enjoy! Be blessed today, wherever you are.

June   June

2 thoughts on “Sometimes pictures are better than words…

Leave a Reply

