The Almighty Pancake

https://i0.wp.com/www.darjanpanic.com/pics/pancakes.jpg  Hello again, friends, and Happy Pancake Tuesday to you. Yes, you (like me), may think this is a joke, but it’s true! The Tuesday before Ash Wednesday in the UK and Ireland is known as Pancake Tuesday. I guess “Maundy” doesn’t sound jolly enough. And everyone makes and eats pancakes all day! The stores are full of them, ready-made, frozen, in mix form, etc. I got up and made my own, with bananas in them. Mmm. I know, you’re probably beginning to wonder if all I do here is eat, or if maybe the title of this blog should be “View From an Irish Kitchen.” But no… it’s just the world I live in right now. Never fear!I’m currently writing from a Chinese internet cafe. It’s… interesting. Smells kind of sour, like old vegetables, and most of the other occupants seem to be from Eastern Europe. Oh well, at least it’s clean and cheap. And I don’t run the risk of getting kicked out, as I do at the library at this time of day. It’s raining outside after a couple lovely days of sun. Yesterday Frank and I walked all over town, poking into antique shops and stopping for coffee. We were celebrating the completion of his latest short film.I watched the first half of the Superbowl on Sunday. It began at 11 p.m. here on BBC sports and came without any of the infamous commericals, but I still watched. And, of course, since Indianapolis wasn’t playing I didn’t care that much, but I knew I didn’t want New England to win. But more than that, I didn’t realize how comforting it would be to just lie there on the couch, listening to the American announcers and watching the wide shots of the ball being hurled across the field. I didn’t know how much I would miss just being able to relax, without having to listen intently to understand what was being said and without having to engage someone to explain what was going on. It was nice.That said, here’s a quiz for you – I’ve found that in Ireland there is one American sports team, and that team only, that is represented in stores. You know, hats, jerseys, kids’ notebooks, etc. What team would you guess it is???A plate of pancakes goes to the first person who figures it out.

4 thoughts on “The Almighty Pancake

  1. Hey Maryann,

    Pancake Tuesday or the more correct Shrove Tuesday is great fun. We will be having a Pancake supper at Christ Church and raising money for the youth group.

    It has been 13 years since I was in Ireland and I believe the Taoist Biker is correct, Notre Dame Fighting Irish.

    Peace

    Michael

Leave a Reply

