Behind door number one…

Don’t you just love advent calendars? I always have, ever since my mom gave them to us as kids. What  a way to anticipate Christmas, through little surprise pictures each morning! This year, Frank and I are sharing one from the classic cartoon, The Snowman. I have to admit, though, I like the pictures even more than the chocolate! Perhaps if I get really motivated, I’ll post a little something for each day of advent. Keep watching!

Well, thanks for hanging in there, I know I’ve been a bad blogger lately.

The wedding went great – was so wonderful to have family and friends around for a few weeks! It just flew by, though! I can’t belive we’re almost a month into our marriage, haha! For all you lovely people who sent gifts, I promise I haven’t forgotten the thank you notes, ugh, sorry, they’re just still in the process of being completed!

In the meantime, though, if you’d like to see more photos, you can go here: Snapfish  (If you don’t have Snapfish username, it’s quick and easy, just sign up your name and you can look at any photos I’ve posted or even upload your own!)

I hope everyone had good Thanksgivings, wherever you are/were! We celebrated ours yesterday. Frank helped me do the food, and together I must confess, we put on quite a spread! We ended up with 12 people stopping in at different times. I bought a very fresh turkey from our butcher just at the top of the hill and I roasted with stuffing on Saturday, along with baking Bonnie’s famous pumpkin cheesecake. Then yesterday, we did pecan pie, mashed potatoes, roast veggies (sweet potatoes, carrots and parsnips), green beans with almonds, cranberry sauce (from a jar) and cornbread. I bought a really nice Pinot Noir from The Wine Buff and really enjoyed it. Frank whipped up a load of cream for the desserts (sweetened, just as I like it!) and coffee and tea finished us all off. We had candles lit and the fire going, so even though everybody had to cram into the sitting room with plates on their laps, I think it was generally well enjoyed!

Even though Thanksgiving is not an Irish holiday, I figured the folks would like anything that celebrated with good food, not to mention the thankfulness that our forefathers escaped religious oppression at the hands of a unnamed country to the east of us… 🙂 I hope I did the Thanksgiving story justice, because I was asked for it several times throughout the week and I had to reach far back into my memories of all I’d learned from Mouse on the Mayflower.  Hee hee. Anyway, I’m glad we did it and I am also glad Frank’s mom will be having us for Christmas! Holidays are a lot of work!!! I think this new generation of Kellys will be cracking entertainers, though!

Door number two tomorrow… what will it be?   

Leave a Reply

