Back to the Grind

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

I can’t believe how fast the last two months have flown by. Tomorrow is my first day back at work and I’m unfortunately realizing I didn’t do anything much with my vacation time! I would happily have telepathically swapped with Bonnie if I could have and gone to play with the kids, letting her do “my thing” of eating, drinking, sleeping, reading and watching TV for the last two weeks. Ah well!

So I’m married! And so far, so good. We had a nice first married Christmas together and have gotten to spend a lot of time just hanging out since the wedding (even if we haven’t done the Honeymoon yet!). Everyone has been really generous to us – both with wedding gifts and Christmas presents. We got cookbooks, gift vouchers, sweaters, DVDs, and a TV!!! And I got an iPod shuffle, so I can now pretend to be like the cool kids.

Once tomorrow begins, we’ll be off running. Frank has a professional reading of one of his scripts on Tuesday night in Dublin, so we’re excited for that. Should be a nice chance to have real actors take it in their hands and bring it to life. Then, later this month, he’s got a photography and film exhibition at the local Arts Centre. Hopefully these two things will bring some attention to his work and his talent.

Meanwhile, I’m back with the wine shop and the restaurant, but I’ve updated my resume and am jumping back into the rough waters of job-seeking. I’d ideally like to at least be a secretary or something, even if nothing in my field pops up for a while. You never know what you’ve got until it’s gone! And while I’ve enjoyed the more organic occupations of food services and sales, I’ve found that I want to be back behind a desk of some kind. The potential salary increase would be good, too.

Anyway, that’s it for me and us right now! Georgie is doing fine… she’s really turning into the sweetest dog and is hardly naughty anymore. I don’t know what we’d do without her!

We do hope to make some trips this year… we’re dying to get to Paris for a few days for a late Honeymoon… I’ve also been hoping we might go to Rome for a few days in the summer… and I really want to make a trip to New York to see the city and visit family, plus Frank has never been… then, of course, we want to get to Arizona and Montana and Indiana and LA if we can! I know, it’s a tall order in a bad year for cash flow, but we can dream, eh?

In the meantime, here’s some pictures to keep us all entertained until the next big event comes along. 🙂

Love, Maryann

mksm
Getting ready for the ceremony…

sibssm
Posing with the Koopman siblings…

cuttingcake
Cutting the cake (which I baked! Have to brag a bit!)

tellitsm
I like this one because it looks as thought I am telling my big sister how it is…

The Storyteller
The morning after the wedding, a group of us transfixed on our friend Trampas as he tells a story…

sneakysnogsm
David and Lindsey sneak a kiss in George’s Street Arcade as Caroline and I check out the shop…

5 thoughts on “Back to the Grind

  1. ohmagosh…Trampas??  that is the second time i’ve heard that name!  who would have thought that name would be so popular. 
    i am happy for you, dear friend.  good luck with the job search!!  🙂

  2. Very nice!! You make a beautiful bride, absolutely beautiful! Best wishes to you both! He’s a lucky man! And I love the B&W pics. You look Ally McBeal-ish in the one with your sister.

Leave a Reply

