Georgie loves snow.

It snowed today! For the first time in over a year, the green hills are blanketed in white – enough white to stick! 

It’s Georgie’s first experience with snow, at least as long as we’ve had her, and she loved it! It’s her new favorite toy! Frank and I stood inside and watched her out the window this afternoon as she ran laps around the garden, tongue hanging out, ears back, tail going in all directions! It was great. Considering how much I’ve missed snow myself, I felt nearly the same elation she did. Of course, when I went out to get some things for dinner, having the slush melt through my shoes and halfway up my pant legs was not so much fun! Not to mention the shops that were closed, cars that were stalled and general grouchiness of people on the town over the slick, white, bothersome mess! They’re not well-equipped to handle snow here, even if it’s just an inch or two, like today. From the news I learned that Britain is in even worse shape.

In honour of the cold, I made a nice pot of Chili and cornbread muffins! (In fairness, I loosely based my chili recipe on my dad’s Constitutional Chili – though I did not have any venison or bison to put in the pot…) Frank had never had chili before and I make cornbread sparingly because I had to bring the cornmeal with me from the States (they don’t sell it here, at least not that I can find!). There’s also a plum and apple crisp waiting downstairs when we are ready for dessert. Yum! Nothing like a homey hot meal on a brisk day!

I have to say though, my favorite thing about today was seeing at least three people on separate occasions walking around the town in a daze, holding unused snowballs! It’s as if they were each thinking to themselves, ” I should really make use of the snow while it is here… but now what do I do with this thing?” I smiled politely and amused myself by thinking who I would hit with a nice, solid, stinging slushball, if given the chance…

Other news… in just over a week, Frank and I will take our long-awaited mini-Honeymoon! I am so excited, I can’t even tell you. We are going to Paris for 4 days and 3 nights, February 11 – 14. It’s not really the best time to be taking a holiday, between the weather and the economy, but I’m really glad we’re doing it. A friend of ours is getting our accommodations as a late wedding gift, so we just had to pay for the airfares (just €60 each with all taxes and fees) and spending money. We’ve been checking out guidebooks and I’ve been emailing friends who spent time in Paris, just to find out what we should not miss! Of course, I foresee time at the Louvre, the Eiffel Tower and probably the Montmartre area… plus plenty of relaxing in cafes with our journals. Hopefully this will be the first trip of many to France… and hopefully I will not make too much of a buffoon of myself with my poor French pronunciations! Luckily, I’ve been working on French film research lately anyway, so at least I’m familiarizing myself with the culture and general Frenchy sounding things. 

Well! The doorbell just rang and I think it’s our friend, Kieran. Maybe it is time to bring the dessert out… until next time, au revoir! 

One thought on “Georgie loves snow.

  1. Snow? That’s crazy! Perhaps the man upstairs knew you needed cheering up. Did Frank like the chili and cornbread? I’ll have to throw some cornbread mix in your next pkg.

Leave a Reply

