News

It’s been way too long.

Do you ever forget sometimes that you have Xanga? I do, even though He was my first love. Myspace I can live without, my WordPress is more of a duty, Facebook is just a bad addiction… but Xanga? Sometimes Xanga just disappears into the back of my mind with those people who randomly pop up in dreams or the comfy sweat pants you can’t remember where you left. Sorry Xanga.

So, if any of you even check my xanga anymore, here’s the latest news on MK.

Married, as you know. Living in Ireland over a year now. Working at a doctor’s office 2 1/2 days a week as a receptionist – very thankful for the work, even if it’s not ideal! Watching Spring come to Drogheda. Trying to save money to do up the house and yard, but it comes in tiny spurts, so it may be a few years yet! Enjoying the community here, the in-laws, friends, co-workers and church family. It always takes time, and this is no different. Took a little trip to Paris in February! Was great, now can’t wait to see the rest of Europe. Hope we can get away for a few days this summer sometime. Economy is bleak here – as everywhere – but unemployment is soaring and the number of people on social welfare went up 40% at the end of 2008. Gah! Missing the American family. Really want to see my niece and nephew… want to visit Bonnie’s new house… want to hang out with my Grandma and parents and brother in Bozeman. Miss Caroline in China, too. What else? Um, this month is my birthday – my GOLDEN birthday!!! I’ll be 27 on the 27th. No plans yet. We’ll see. It’s also my 10 year high school graduation anniversary – remember, Havilah? Doesn’t seem so far away, does it?

The other news, which is a Xanga exclusive, because this blog is still semi-private… I’ll be having my first baby later this year!!! No joke! Can’t believe it myself! Frank and I are excited (surprised!). I’ve not been feeling the greatest, i.e. queasy/tired/emotional, but I keep hearing that it will pick up in a few weeks. We’re not sure of a due date, but it will probably be late November. I’ll keep you posted! All you people with kids need to give me advice now! It will definitely be interesting having a child in a foreign country – not something I ever pictured myself doing, but I knew was possible. The health care and rearing norms can be very different here… we’ll just have to take it all in stride I guess!

So that’s what’s going on in my area – how about you?

P.S. Here’s an interesting article from the New York Times about the current Irish economy… if you’re into that sort of thing. 🙂

Erin Go Broke

11 thoughts on “News

  1. Hey, nice to hear from you, I stop by your other blog every once in a while, but this one I still get as soon as it comes out. Nice to be mentioned, I was remembering this is our ten year too. Weird. Yeah, doesn’t seem very long ago at all, but then I think of all that has happened…
    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! Babies are amazing and wonderful!-And scary knowing they are little people to love and teach! I won’t even try giving advice, in a few months you will be SICK of getting it from perfect strangers 🙂

  2. Well, ain’t you something!! Congratulations. Old farts advice: remember, you’re their parent not their friend. Too many parents want to be friends with their kids while they’re growing up. There will be time to be friends AFTER you’ve raised them and taught them to be responsible adults. Kids need parents! and on other notes…I miss Xanga also. Bunches of people bugging me to get facebook. Xanga was first and can’t be replicated or duplicated. Good luck, MaryAnn with your baby. Do you have a preference on girl/boy?

  3. Congratulations!
    Proverbs 11:14 </Where no counsel is, the people fall: but in the multitude of counsellors there is safety.
    Proverbs 15:22 </Without counsel purposes are disappointed: but in the multitude of councellors they are established.

Leave a Reply

