Mama Mayhem

I have to tell you, I love being a mommy. I really, really do.

I adore my little Evelyn. Seeing her chubby, smiling face when I get her out of bed in the morning is one of the best things ever! She has this wonderful, rich, belly-deep chuckle that makes my day. She’s getting so clever at this age, too – learning all the time, doing new things, discovering, exploring! She’s getting to try all kinds of new foods lately and is actually not too picky, most of the time. She loves reading stories and singing songs with us. Frank and I have great craic imagining together what she might be when she grows up… a dancer? a musician? a writer? a chef? an olympic swimmer? a soccer player? an architect? all of the above? 🙂

It’s an exciting time for all of us.

Uh, oh, she's figured out how to open the tin of sweets!

However… I would be lying if I said I don’t find being her mom the hardest thing I’ve ever done. Sometimes she is absolutely exasperating!!! At nearly 11 months old, my dear daughter has still never ONCE slept through the night. She’s also taking her time crawling (much less walking) and has not sprouted a single tooth, even after 6+ months of teething pains. Now, of course, none of these things are her fault!!! It’s just a bit ironic how I’m seeing a pattern develop in her little life, a propensity for taking her time… I should have guessed when she arrived 12 days late after 21 hours of labour! 🙂 And ironic, because I, too, have a habit of taking the long way around things (remember this post?).

It’s probably hard, too, because she is my first baby and I don’t know what the heck is going on. I worry a lot – is she getting the right nutrition? Enlough sleep? Too much sleep? Are we giving her enough intellectual stimulation? Have we done all the right things to get her body toned for crawling and/or walking? Funny how I used to feel pretty confident with kids and their care when they didn’t belong to me! I’m already tearing up that mental “I’ll never do THIS to my kids” list as we speak. It’s a steep learning curve, that’s for sure, and I feel my patience tried to its limits sometimes!

But…

Storytime

Regardless of the stress, I wouldn’t change her for the world. My heart will tell you she is just about the greatest blessing a person can have, a blessing I don’t take for granted and I never want to rush. So she may get me up a few times a night, but I know it won’t last forever, even if it feels like it’s already been at least that long! It goes without saying, as soon as she starts walking and using real words, a whole new set of calamities will befall us! So maybe for now waiting on her a bit longer isn’t such a bad thing. It’s definitely always new and entertaining!

Now, she’s asleep in bed and I will say my prayers again that she’ll go all night without needing me. In the meantime…

Mama’s Little Baby Guinness*
*to be enjoyed in a shot after a long week of sleepless nights!

3 parts Coffee Liquer (such as Kahlua or Tia Maria) to 1 part Irish Cream (Bailey’s is best!)

Pour the Kahlua/Tia Maria into a glass and gently pour the Bailey’s Irish Cream second, either using the backside of a spoon or the side of the glass so that the Irish Cream sits on top like the head on a pint of Guinness. And there you have it, a Baby Guinness!!

2 thoughts on “Mama Mayhem

  1. Oh Good, I get to be the first comment! I believe neither one of my kids slept through the night until they were 18 months old. So no help there, other than, eventually Evelyn will sleep through the night.

    Thanks for the recipe, I will try it out!!

    Coffee and chocolates were great! Thanks ever so much!

  2. I’m no mama, but a Baby Guinness sounds swell!

    Wondering what your little Evelyn will grow up to be as well, but I’ve no doubt she’ll be something fabulous.

    Love the pictures!

Leave a Reply

