Blogworm.

They say more foul weather is on its way.

The bitter winds and snow have been blowing in from Siberia – Siberia! – and if that doesn’t make you feel chilled to the bone, I don’t know what will.

But I’m OK with that. I’m snuggled up here on the couch, my first batch of Christmas cookies baked and more in the works, and a long day at its close. On evenings like this, when all I can hear is the swish and churn of the washing machine and the noises of the house settling, I feel like reading.

Now, I’ve hit my yearly goal of *reading 10 books I’ve never read before within 12 months*, so there’s no pressure on. But actually, I find myself shying away from the stack of novels and non-fiction works that is barely stirred by the side of my bed. No, tonight I’m in the mood for something else… and so I am blogging, and exploring the blogging of others.

There’s some great stuff out there, if you have an hour to spend stumbling around the place, so to speak. There’s a lot of crap, too, oh yeah! But there are some amazing bits of writing as well – the kind of writing when, after you’ve read it and thought about it, you feel like you’ve suddenly been handed a large, cool glass of water when you didn’t even realize you were thirsty.  It’s totally inspiring and satisfying. I dig it. 🙂

Of course, ALL the blogs I like to are ones I enjoy reading. But tonight, here are two in particular that deserve a little stand-out notice.

Dispatches from an Old-Fashioned Man

Pink of Perfection

*In case you happen to be interested in the 10 books I read this year (and as long as you don’t make fun of the Harry Potters!), here you go, in no particular order:

1. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
2. Don’t Wake Me at Doyles by Maura Murphy
3. Evelyn by Evelyn Doyle
4. Julie and Julia by Julie Powell
5. Carrie by Stephen King
6. Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See
7. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
8. Harry Potter and the Philospher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
9. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling
10. Harry Potter and the Prizoner of Azakaban by J. K. Rowling

Wow. I guess it was a pretty feminine-dominant year. And I didn’t even list the breastfeeding books I practically memorized! Will be interesting to see what 2011 holds for my literary tastebuds.

One thought on “Blogworm.

Leave a Reply

