Books, Booze and Busking.

Have you ever heard the term “busking?” It’s what we would say to describe someone performing on the street. There are usually loads of musicians busking around Drogheda this time of year, particularly when there’s no snow to hinder them! Most are average performers, but some are brilliant, really really good. You’d see them year round on Grafton Street in Dublin, and sometimes around Christmas you might even see celebrities joining the busking tradition for charity (i.e. Glen Hansard, Bono, Damien Rice, etc.). Evelyn loves listening to buskers.

Just a bit of random conversation for you. Anyway! Hope you had a Happy Christmas! 🙂

I’m actually killing some time before Frank and I dress up and go out for dinner. Evelyn is staying the night with her grandparents – only the second time EVER that she has been away from us over night! I miss her already, but it will be nice to have a grown up night out with my husband. This time of year is always special to me because I remember the first Christmas Frank and I were together and how we fell in love here in Ireland. I feel so much older now, even though it’s been just 5 years. I think that makes it the perfect time for us to catch up on our romance feel young and giddy again. Hopefully I won’t fall asleep before midnight!

I bought a very pretty new dress yesterday (half price!) at New Look, along with some new shoes and jewelry, too. It will be fun to feel fresh and dolled up. I have no idea what to do with my hair or makeup, as neither are my forte, but I’m sure Frank will be happy to have me as his date even if I look like an over-teased clown. Ha ha! I will try to post pictures, whatever the finished product resembles.

I’ve been working on a big post for tomorrow, or maybe Sunday, but my laptop keyboard is only working part of the time, and some of the most important keys are broken all together. Lesson learned – don’t prop a full Jack ‘n’ Coke on top of a pile of magazines in the dark while you go to answer your crying daughter. I swear only a drop or two must have spilled on the closed laptop (while the rest drenched the chair, the dog and the floor), but it only takes a drop or two of boozy goodness to render my computer defunct. Sigh.

Ah well, getting off the computer more has given me the chance to finish some books. I am so glad I’ve gotten to read more this year – and have even gone over my 10 Book Yearly Goal! Woohoo! As I did last year, I’m posting the list of my 2011 reading material for your interest.

1 – 3. The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, Mockingjay (trilogy) by Suzanne Collins

4. Paula Spencer by Roddy Doyle

5. The Snapper by Roddy Doyle

6. 47 Roses by Peter Sheridan

7. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling

8. The Witches by Roal Dahl

9. The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman

10. Ellis Island by Kate Kerrigan

11. An Irish Country Childhood by Marrie Walsh

12. Just Take My Heart by Mary Higgins Clark

13. The Shadow of Your Smile by Mary Higgins Clark

14. I’ll Walk Alone by Mary Higgins Clark

15. Rise and Shine by Anna Quindlen

16. The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo

17. A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg

18. Food, Inc. by various authors

There were a few others I read but did not finish, so you can check back at the end of next year to see what they were. 🙂 Most of these books were quite enjoyable, though some were more “fluff” than others… I think my favourites were still the Hunger Games series. Wow. I also really enjoyed reading a bunch of contemporary Irish authors this year and I look forward to doing more of the same in the coming months.

2 thoughts on “Books, Booze and Busking.

  1. Dave and I just finished the Hunger Games and are starting #2. Does it count if we read the books out loud to each other? I want to hit 10 books a year too!

    I’m sure you looked gorgeous on your date night! Love you!

Leave a Reply

