Gingies

Ginger Love Hearts with Cinnamon Royal Icing

I’ve never met a Ginger I didn’t like.

Give me soft gingerbread cake with fresh whipped cream, spicy ginger beer in a tall glass with ice, or crunchy ginger cookies accented with icing, currants and sweets.  Be it light or dark, shaped like a house or straight off the stem, Ginger is one close friend of mine, and always will be.   There’s something exotic and yet extremely comforting in the warmth and spice of ginger.

Funny how people here call redheads “Gingers” – must be an old-fashioned thing.  The only redheads I knew as I kid were kind of rough and bullyish.  Even Little Orphan Annie had a mean streak. Since then, I’ve met more than enough lovely Gingers to counteract my previous bad experience (I’m even related to one by marriage!).  However, there are not as many Irish redheads as you might think… or Scottish redheads, for that matter.  Honestly, I think I’ve seen as many Gingers around here as I ever did anywhere else I’ve lived. Irish folk come in all shapes, sizes and colours these days – don’t base your ideals on a postcard!  I actually heard in the news last year that there are fewer redheads than ever, and that the trait may die out all together if redheads don’t start marrying redheads and having lots of redheaded babies! Wow! Food for thought. 🙂

Anyway, I don’t know where the term “Ginger” really came from, as ginger and red are two colours far apart… but whichever Ginger you’re referring to, I’m going to take a chance and say I like it. Or him or her.

A few more favourite Gingers…

Rupert Grint as Ron Weasley

Megan Follows as Anne Shirley
Christina Hendricks as Joan
Lucille Ball

OK, so Lucy is kind of cheating, she was actually a brunette, but best known for being a redhead! And let’s think about it for just a second – aren’t some people just better as redheads (natural or otherwise)??? I don’t think anyone would argue that Lindsay Lohan was a whole lot sweeter when she kept it natural. Just saying. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Gingies

  1. I don’t like red hair to be described as ginger. The british use is as a derogatory term, ginger minger and pronounce it to rhyme with singer. I don’t mind redhead, titian, auburn, nut brown, copper top, even carrot top and duracell are better than ginger minger. The Catherine Tate show has a lot to answer for. Mini rant over, I’m glad you’re back posting again.

  2. Speaking of ginger, you would LOVE a soda here called “Stoney.” It’s like a major step up in ginger-flavor from your basic ginger ale. It’s ginger ale with hair on its chest. 🙂 Wish I could send you one!

    Love you.

Leave a Reply

