The Season for Giving

Frosty Fence by Frank Kelly

My grandmother Evelyn always used to say (in her strong Long Island accent), “Maryann, there are Givers and there are Takers in this world. I have always been a Giver.”

Today I was on the receiving end of  a lovely and unexpected gift. While I was working at Traders this morning, a woman and her little girl came into the shop and asked for me. The local Irish lady explained that she reads my blog (!!!) and enjoys it (!!!) and… after learning of my angel food cake fiasco, decided to give me her very own angel food cake pan!!!!

I was flabbergasted, to say the least! What a lovely thing to do!!! And as I thanked her over and over for her sweet gesture, she simply replied, “It’s the season for giving and I thought you should have it.”

I’ve been smiling all day.

Similarly, I had an email a week or two back from a friend in Indianapolis, a dear lady who I worked with quite a lot as she volunteered for Heartland Truly Moving Pictures. She mentioned in her email that she was sending “a little package” in the mail that we should keep a lookout for.

Well, the package – an enormous box! – arrived last week and was full of delightful things! T-shirts from the 2010 Heartland Film Festival for Frank and me, little Christmas outfits for Evelyn, a jolly stuffed Christmas elf to sit on our windowsill and, best of all, a real little baby doll for Evelyn! When Evey “met” her baby, she squealed with delight and just wanted to hug and kiss and laugh over her!

And the week before that, my ol’ best friend and kindred spirit, Claire, sent me a package filled with delights for all the senses – food, kitchenwares, recipes, accessories, Christmas ornaments! Each thing was wrapped and sent with such care, it was like having her here with me by the fireside.

And so, here I am, feeling so lucky and yet also feeling  like the very spoiled Taker my Grandmother once mentioned! Ha ha! I am just so touched, though, by the loving generosity of people – from friends, to colleagues, to perfect strangers! I can’t say thank you enough.

Whatever the world is suffering right now, it’s such a blessing to know that we are still rich with Givers. I am inspired again to become one, too.

3 thoughts on “The Season for Giving

  1. I have been blessed by giving and receiving many times in my life, and although I do think it is truly more blessed to give than to receive, I gotta say, there have been so many times I get to be the getter to someone’s giving and it is pretty darn nice! Enjoy being spoiled and pass it along! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

